Running Out Of Time

As I write this, it is Friday evening and a long weekend stretches out in front of me.  The weekend holds so much potential, especially with the addition of a Monday holiday.  This will be the last chunk of time before my birthday, so it is my last opportunity to complete any of the items on my List of 50 Things I want to do before my birthday.  I originally made the list to spur me into action and to give me some goals.  I have had so much fun accomplishing the items on the list.  It has given me so much joy to plan and carry out the activities.  It has been a delight to have family and friends pitch in to make these dreams come true over the past year.

I am not going to accomplish everything that is left before my birthday.  Still, I could probably get to a few more if I set my mind to it.  Looking through the list, the one thing that I most want to accomplish is #23, “Sell something on etsy.”  I actually have some notecards that I made with my photos on the front.  I have tried several times to make an etsy shop and offer them for sale, but I can never complete the item description.  I have read the way others describe similar products, but I can’t seem to get mine quite right.  So, my shop never opens.  I really want to get these notecards on the site and open my little etsy shop.  If I could get this done this weekend, I would be very pleased.

I am going to be able to cross one item off.  Emily and I (along with John and Emily’s boyfriend Justin) have made plans to take a glass bead-making class together this weekend.  I think that will count for #26, “Learn a new skill.”  I;m a little nervous because I don’t know that this is an appropriate class for a person with low vision, but I am eager to give it a try and see if I can do it.  The instructor seems very nice and, since I am more interested in the process than the product, I am sure it will be fun.

There are a few other items that I may or may not get to before my birthday.  I never intended to do everything on the list, so I will be glad no matter what I accomplish.  Maybe we will finally make it to the Red Cross center to donate blood (#28).  I hope to clean out my closets and donate the clothes to Goodwill (#39).  I will probably have time to write a fan letter (#33).  I have the ingredients to make jelly or jam (#47)  Who knows?  I am excited to have this nice, long weekend to try to get a few things done.  I have some goals but I am not going to go crazy trying to get everything done.  We do have a few activities on our calendar that we have to attend AND I do need to get some cleaning done.  (Although there are some cleaning activities on the list.)  So, time will tell.  Those items I do not accomplish can still be done after my birthday.  It’s not like I have to get them done by my birthday or I will lose my chance forever.  I have plenty of time.  But I do want to get a few more things done.  Wish me luck!

8 thoughts on “Running Out Of Time

  1. Hoping you get your cards up on etsy soon. I have an etsy store and would be glad to help you if you need an incentive push. You don’t have to do anything big right off the bat. Just the basics, and then look around as you see others with similar things on etsy. The format could simple for you as you are selling just one thing… Cards. I sell many different things so I have too use different formats. Wishing you the best. If you want to see my store, it is under the link listed here. Blessings to You and Yours! Cheryl

    • I did it, Cheryl! Thanks for the encouragement. I thank you for the little nudge that helped me break free from my inertia and get listed.I put two items on etsy today and opened my shop. I visited your shop and made it a favorite. Now that I have started, I am excited to add more note cards and then take more photos and so on. Thanks again.

      • Cheryl, thanks for making my shop a “favorite.” I called it Blindgirlz, just trying to be a little bit sassy about losing my vision. As I look around the other shops on Etsy, I see that I need to do some work to get mine up to par. Do you have any suggestions for me?

  2. congrats and happy pre-birthday. it’s amazing that you have accomplished so much in such a short time and touched so many lives in the process. we’re glad we could be a small part of it and look forward to a continuing friendship with your family. God bless you Belinda

    • Thanks for being part of one of the most special moments on my list – you guys gave me an afternoon I will never forget. Every time I see that picture of the bridal party grouped around the convertible, I have to smile. We seem to keep missing you at the Peppermill. We will have to coordinate our times better! Thanks for your support and encouragement. 🙂

  3. I think you should do as much as you can and then after your birthday, add even MORE to your list! I actually JUST cleaned out my closet tonight and have two huge trashbags to take to Goodwill tomorrow morning. Happy Birthday early and good luck on completing your items!

    • Hi Jessica. Thank you so much for your comment. I visited your blog and I LOVE IT! I am going to try to get as much accomplished on my list before my birthday as I can. Once my birthday hits, I am going to shift my focus to creating my Dream Book of all my dreams, large and small, possible and impossible. I have laid the groundwork and I am really excited to begin this next phase. This list of 50 things has been life-altering, in that it has opened my eyes to a world I hadn’t experienced before. Thank you so much for your comment. I will be visiting your blog often!

Leave a Reply

