Peace and Quiet

Today, I came home from work really, really tired.  I guess all the excitement and activity of the weekend caught up with me.  We ate dinner early and I was ready for bed.  I thought I would work on the computer or read, but Icould not keep my eyes open.  I think I was asleep by 8:00pm.  I slept so soundly that, when I awoke some time later, I felt so rested that my first thought was that I had slept through my alarm and was late for work.  No problem, a quick check of the clock showed that it was only 2:00am.

So, here I am, wide awake in the middle of the night.  There is something very peaceful and comforting and precious about this moment.  Sometimes, when I am awake in the night I feel full of anxiety and begin to worry about all the unfinished business I have waiting for me.  Tonight, though, I just feel very blessed.  I can hear John breathing peacefully beside me.  Our dogs are cuddled all around us on the bed.  I know that our children are all home, snug in their beds.  The house is making its “old house” settling sounds, but mostly this is a very quiet time.

I realize that I have been very busy lately.  My life has been full of activity and tasks and conversation.  This is wonderful and joyful, but I have not had much time to just be quiet with myself.  With Lent beginning this week, I am aware that I need to give myself the gift of more silent time, more prayerful quiet.  I can pray in the midst of my busyness, and I know that God is always with me, but sitting alone in the silence tonight, I realize that my spirit has been missing having quiet alone-time with my beloved creator.

I am thankful for this reminder.  I am thankful for this moment, right now, when nothing is calling for my attention except my need to pray.  I will close this post for now and wish everyone a night of peaceful sleep and a good day tomorrow.  Before I go back to sleep, I will take some time to thank God for the grace and blessings in my life.  I will thank God for this moment, this quiet, this peace.

2 thoughts on “Peace and Quiet

  1. Yes… my favorite time of day is early, early in the morning when the whole world is still quiet… the perfect time for prayer. (Sorry, I can’t do 2 am!!!)

    • I am rarely up in the early morning – and if I am up, it is rarely because I am in a peaceful place. Usually, early mornings or late nights mean I am worrying about something. I was really happy to be awake and peaceful and able to pray this time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

