A Beautiful Day

Today was a beautiful day.  At lunchtime, I decided to go for a walk.  The sun was shining and the sky was clear and blue.  I have been wanting to go to the library and it seemed like today was the perfect day.

For years, the kids and I went to the library at least once a week.  We would spend hours exploring all the different sections.  The main branch of the library downtown is one of the greatest places in the city.  It includes two big buildings, across the street from each other, connected by an underground tunnel.  Part of the library is new and modern and part is old and historic.  It is all beautiful.

I had not been to the library in years, until one day recently when Kasey took me there as part of a mobility training outing.  We walked to the library and walked through the entire building.  Kasey pointed out the differences in lighting and helped me prepare for a time when I might go by myself.  Since that day, I have wanted to go back.

Today, at lunch, I walked to the library.  It was a beautiful day for a walk.  The library is about a ten minute walk from where I work.  When I got to the library, I renewed my library card, which had expired.  With my new library card in hand, I headed over to the large print book section.  This is where I hit my biggest struggle.  The large print book section is actually one of the most dimly lit parts of the library.  I had a really hard time reading the book titles.  I felt very frustrated, but I did not give up.  I took my time and let my eyes adjust to the dim light as much as possible. Finally, I was able to read the titles on some of the books.  I chose a book, checked it out and left the library.

I don’t know when I have felt more proud of myself.  It may seem like a little thing, but this visit to the library was a huge step of independence for me.  Since my vision began to deteriorate, it has often seemed easier to just stay put, play it safe, take the safe route.  Sometimes, I feel like my world has become smaller because of my vision loss.  Actually leaving work by myself and walking by myself to the library and taking care of this errand felt so great.  I don’t have to be afraid or hesitant to do normal things – like go to the library.  Today, I could feel my world expanding, feel barriers breaking down, feel possibilities opening up.  It was a very good day.

2 thoughts on “A Beautiful Day

  1. Wow! You are so brave.
    I’m curious, did you tell someone at the library that the large print section needs brighter lighting? That seems like an important bit of feedback!

    • Sheri, I am going to write a note to the library about the lighting being so dim in that area. I’m sure they would be able to make some sort of adjustment without too much trouble or cost. This walk was so empowering for me. It reminded me that I really can do anything, I just need to give things a little more thought than I used to.

Leave a Reply

