Any Dream Will Do

My dream book is sitting on my nightstand.  It is ready and waiting for me to fill it with my dreams.  In January, I read the book Dream Manager and started thinking of ways to help the people I love articulate their dreams.  I bought a dream book for each person in my family. I have encouraged and badgered and invited and nagged everyone to start writing down their dreams in their books.  I have asked them as a group and as individuals how they are doing with their dream books.  When someone struggled with coming up with dreams, I was available to offer suggestions and do some probing to get the brainstorming started.  I think everyone is off to a good start.

Except for me.  I have a confession to make.  I have not written anything in my dream book yet.  Don’t get me wrong, since I read Dream Manager, I have thought a lot about my dreams.  I have plenty to write down, but I can’t seem to put pen to paper.  I can’t seem to make myself commit to a dream enough to write it down.  I open the book and choose a beautiful fine-line marker, but the pages look so empty and clean and white that I can’t bring myself to make a mark.  I don’t want to make a mistake.  I don’t want to mess up my beautiful book.

I know I am being ridiculous.  The point of the book is to BRAINSTORM my dreams.  It is not meant to be a work of art.  It is a tool.  It is meant to be a vehicle to help me reach for the stars.  Keeping it fresh and clean is not going to serve any purpose.  Reaching for dreams is a messy business.  There will be roadblocks and failures all along the way.  The point of the exercise is to get going.  And that is what I am going to do.

Right now, right after I post this to the internet, I am going to pick up my dream book and start writing.  I am going to start with one littl dream.  Any dream will do.  Anything to get me started.  Once I start, I am going to keep writing.  I will write down these dreams that have been swirling around in my head since I read Dream Manager two months ago….dreams that have been swirling around in my heart for my whole life. Big dreams and small dreams.  Easy to achieve and impossible.

Wish me luck, I am off to dream right now!

6 thoughts on “Any Dream Will Do

  1. Could You Please Tell Me How To Write My Own Dreams On Paper ?
    I Mean….Is There Any Specific Way To Write Them ……Do You Write them in bullet points ..Or…A long Sentence
    Give Me An Example Please ….. The Article Really Touched Me…Keep It UP
    Thanx In Advance

    • Hi Omar. It’s funny that you should ask these questions. I thought that I had emphasized that there are no rules about how to do this, but my son was asking these same questions yesterday. I will give you an example of how I am writing down my dreams, but I want to emphasize that you can write your in whatever way is easiest and most comfortable for you. I am writing in a blank book and I am writing one dream on each page. I write just a couple of words or a sentence for each dream. I thought that when I reach my goal of 100 dreams, I might go back and flesh out some of them and add in some small steps that might help me reach that dream. But, for now, I am just writing a few words. For example, one dream I have is “Have my photos in an art show.”

      My husband, who is very artistic, has drawn some pictures in his dream book. I can also imagine cutting out some magazine pictures of places I want to visit or something I dream of buying. There really are no rules. I hope this helps. Happy dreaming!

    • It’s so funny. As soon as I read your comment, I thought of a dream I have had for a long time. It is to fix up the apartment building at the end of our street. I think the apartments were nice many years ago, but they are kind of run down now. If I had all the money in the world, I would love to renovate them into townhouses. They could be so beautiful. This is one of those “impossible” dreams. Thanks for the great brainstorming idea. It really helped get me thinking.

  2. I’m getting really curious about this Dream Manager book! I’m thinking of getting it from the library. How’d your dream-brainstorm go? 🙂

    • I really recommend this book. Even though it is written from a business perspective, I totally thought of my family when I read it. It has helped me a lot. I’m so glad I finally wrote down some of my dreams. I didn’t get to 100, but I committed quite a few to paper. Somehow, they seem more real now.

Leave a Reply

