Another One Bites The Dust

Finally! Finally! Finally!  I made it to a yoga class!  Hooray!  I shouldn’t be so excited, because everything was WAY beyond my abilities.

Backing up a bit…when I made my list of 50 things I wanted to do before my birthday, I put Take A Yoga Class as #49.  That was in April, 2010.  I have been working on my list and finalized as many items as I could before my birthday last month.  But I never made it to a yoga class, much to the dismay of my friend Sheri, who offered numerous options for classes and said she would go with me.  I wanted to go, but it never quite worked out.

When the Maplewood Y reopened in February, after extensive renovation, John and I signed right up for a family membership.  We started very slowly but are now going a few evenings each week, mostly walking on the treadmill.  Emily has tried out several classes, but I have been hesitant to go to one.  This week, I decided that I was going to try a class before the week was over.  I looked at the class list and there is was – Gentle Yoga on Thursday at 7:00pm.  I made up my mind that I was going to go.  I have thought about it all week.  Today, I was really excited whenever the thought that I was going to try this class came to mind.

I was really nervous before the class.  I didn’t have any idea how many people would be in the class, or how much experience they would have.  I really didn’t want to feel foolish, but I decided I was willing to risk looking foolish in exchange for giving yoga a try.  I went into the room and found a mat and got ready.

The class was hard.  Really, really hard.  I had a hard time figuring out what I was supposed to be doing and an impossible time trying to make my body move the way it was supposed to.  I did yoga for a while about 10 years ago, when I was much thinner and more flexible.  Tonight, the simplest poses were very difficult for me.  Still, I am so glad that I went.  First, it felt so good to stretch.  I stretched and stretched my muscles and  it felt wonderful.  Second, it didn’t matter whether the other people in the class were more advanced than I was.  I was just focused on trying to make my body do the poses as best as I could and it really seemed like I could have been all alone with the instructor.  Third, the relaxation time at the end of the class was heavenly.  As I left the class, I had the biggest smile on my face.  I felt so good.

I was so terrible at yoga.  But it didn’t matter.  I gave it a try.  I met my goal.  I can cross another one off the list.  And I want to go back again.  I am counting today as a big success.

8 thoughts on “Another One Bites The Dust

  1. I’m glad you went. I’ve always wanted to try yoga but haven’t yet. I wouldn’t worry about being good at it, just enjoy it. I took belly dancing classes a few years ago and I was horrible with a capital H but I loved going each week. That’s really all that matters.

    • I really like your description of horrible with a capital H – it fits my yoga postures perfectly! I did really enjoy it and I am looking forward to going back. Thanks for the support!

  2. Belinda! I am so happy for you! It’s too bad you didn’t call me because I was actually free tonight! Oh well.
    Remember, yoga is not about making your body ‘fit’ into some outer pose; it’s all about the Insides!
    Namaste,
    Sheri

    • Oh, Sheri, I am sorry that I didn’t call you. I was so focused on making myself go to the class and I wasn’t sure until the very last minute if I would chicken out. I do know that it is about the insides, but it sure did feel great to stretch my muscles. Even though I could hardly do anything, I could feel something happening to my body. Thank you so much for your patient encouragement. I am planning to go back next week and I am encouraging John to go with me. 🙂

    • Rosemarie, I am glad you chuckled because it was really hilarious. If you could have seen me trying to do the poses you really would have laughed. I was laughing at myself. The instructor assured me that I did fine and that, if I keep it up, I will become more and more flexible as time goes on. The relaxation part at the end was worth all the struggling. I do encourage you to give yoga a try. When I got home, I saw the end of a show on PBS about a group of people and none of them started yoga until after 50 or 60. They all said it was life changing for their bodies. So, maybe there is hope for us after all!

Leave a Reply

