A Gift Of Peace

These are days that are full of stress.  World events are frightening.  The economy is tough.  There is never enough time in a day to get everything done.  As I go through each day, I have to find a way to find peace.  I can find it in the beauty and grace I see in the world.  Sometimes, though, peace is hard to come by on the outside.  I have to be able to have peace inside myself.  Those are times when this thought conditioner can be helpful:

Peace I leave with you, My peace I give to you: not as the world gives, give I to you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid. —John 14:27

When I have a stressful day at work, or when traffic is bad, or when the atmosphere in our home is tense, or when I am overwhelmed by the events of the day, I love to repeat the words of this scripture to myself.  Breathing deeply and saying these words takes away my stress.  I can feel myself relaxing as the words become part of me.

These words remind me that I do not have to be affected by the events occurring around me.  The world can go crazy and I can still remain peaceful.  Stress can swirl around me, but I do not have to get sucked into the vortex.  I need to stay grounded in the peace that comes from a divine source, from the heart of the creator who loves me so much.  Peace is a gift and I just have to accept it.

This is a great little scripture to have memorized.  That way, whenever I am feeling stressed or overwhelmed, I can take a minute to bring it to mind.  I can remind myself that I am grounded in peace.  I have peace inside me.  I can bring peace into the world.  Instead of getting caught up in the frenzy around me, I can actually accept the peace that is offered to me in this scripture and then I can bring that peace into the situation and be a messenger of peace myself.  Instead of continuing a vicious cycle, I can bring a calming touch.

I am working on all of this.  The first step is to believe that peace is available to me.  Peace I leave with you, My peace I give to you: not as the world gives, give I to you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.  What a world of grace is given to us in those few words.

2 thoughts on “A Gift Of Peace

Leave a Reply

