Looking Forward

My cataract surgery is scheduled for two weeks from today.  It can’t come soon enough.  Today, my eyes bothered me all day.  I had forms to fill out and email to deal with and I could barely bring anything into focus.  By noon I had a splitting headache.  My eyes were tired and burning and watering.  I took my contacts our as soon as I got home from work, but even that did not help.  All I could think of to do was to close my eyes.

I have to learn how to rest my eyes without falling asleep.  I tried to listen to music with my eyes closed, but I fell asleep within a few minutes of closing my eyes.  Some time with my eyes closed helped a little bit, but I still have a headache and my eyes are still so tired.

Tonight John and I are cuddled up with our three dogs and our cat.  It is comforting to have my little animals around me.  Tonight’s post is going to be short.  I don’t want to stare at my computer screen for too long.  I want to wake up tomorrow with my eyes rested, so that I don’t have another day like today.  The best way for me to stay positive is to look forward.  I will have my surgery and hope that it improves my vision.  I am so blessed to have additional options.  If my vision does not improve significantly, I will make an appointment for a new low vision evaluation.  I am sure that there will be some advice they can give me to be able to do my job without straining my eyes.

The future is bright.  I have a lot of hope.  For tonight, I am going to keep this short and go rest my eyes.  Tomorrow will be a great day.

2 thoughts on “Looking Forward

  1. I read your blogs often. I have the beginning of age related macular degeneration; not at all serious but it is starting to make reading my music difficult. But small beer (as we say) to your troubles.

    it is wonderful how troubles can seem at times to become blessings – if you let them?

    I am praying that your “op” will help you
    love
    Michael Martin
    (Thistle’s Dad on twitter)

    • Hi and thanks for your comment. You are absolutely right that what seems at first like a “trouble” turns out to be a blessing. I have found this to be very true in my own journey. Thanks for the prayers.

Leave a Reply

