Little By Little

It has been two and a half weeks since my cataract surgery.  My right eye seems to be healed.  I am not having any problems with it.  I am getting used to not being able to focus up close. I am adjusting to a few problems with light.  Light is too bright for me, especially first thing in the morning.  I am learning to give myself time to grow accustomed to the light little by little as I begin the day.   I love being able to recognize people, to see a familiar face across a room.  I love waking up in the morning, opening my eyes, and being able to see without contacts or glasses.  I am still amazed every morning to open my eyes and be able to see.

My left eye, now that is a different story.  My surgery in that eye is scheduled for May 24 and I can hardly wait.  I see less from my left eye every single day.  The most noticeable part of my vision loss is a brown cast that obscures everything I try to see.  If I cover my left eye and look at a white wall, it is bright white.  If I cover my right eye and look at the same white wall, it is brown.  This darkening is giving me a feeling of claustrophobia as the world gets dimmer and dimmer when I look through my left eye.  I try to rely almost completely on my right eye at this point.  I hope that my cataract surgery on my left eye does some good.  I am certain that it will remove the brownish film that is covering everything, so I will be happy with that even if I don’t gain any focus.

I continue to think of my cataract surgery as having performed a miracle.  Little by little, my distance vision is improving.  I can hardly wait until after May 24 to see what will happen after my second cataract surgery.

4 thoughts on “Little By Little

    • Thank you so much, Cheryl. I can hardly wait for my second surgery, now that I know how quick the recovery is and what a difference it makes. I appreciate your prayers.

  1. I have been trying to read your blog every day but if i miss one i do catch up. I like the part where you said you like recognizing people from a distance and it gives you that happy feeling. I want to share with you that when i read this part, I instantly thought of seeing you in church the other day with that beaming beautiful smile that you always have and I shared that same feeling that you described. It was so good to see you and I hope i see you more often this summer ( i will make the attempt). I pray for you and your family every day and you inspire me to stay positive when things seem to get in the way and set me back from my goals. I love you so much. God Bless and Happy Spring!
    Love Mara
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

