A Memory Of My Mother

Today is Mothers Day. a happy day that is always tinged with sadness for me.  My mother was the most wonderful woman in the world.  She was truly a saint.  She passed away suddenly of a heart attack in 1998, when she was just 57 years old.  I miss her every single day.  I have so many happy memories of her, wonderful memories that give me comfort.

My Mom was a gentle, quiet, peaceful soul.  She was demure and reserved.  Still, one of my happiest memories from childhood is when she would step a bit out of her usual quiet character.  I will never forget the times she would put on her Herb Alpert and the Tijuana Brass album, “Whipped Cream,” and we would dance around the living room.  She was always a little embarrassed by the album cover, but she loved the music.  She would laugh and dance and I was so happy to have such a young, beautiful mother.

As far as I can remember, my Mom only owned two records, Whipped Cream and a Johnny Mathis Christmas record.  Even though she didn’t own many records, she loved music.  The radio was often on, playing the latest songs.  At night, after she had put us to bed, she would sit down at the piano and play and play.  I loved lying in bed and listening to her.  There was something so comforting about hearing my mother playing the piano as I drifted off to sleep.

I took piano lessons for years, but I just was never very good.  I tried hard, but some element of talent is missing from me.  I do love music, though, and I thank my Mom for giving me that love.  Musical talent was passed on to my children.  They all sing well (though they won’t all admit it) and have all tried their hand at instruments.  Sam, though, picked up the piano seemingly overnight.  He is amazingly talented.  Sometimes, now, Sam will play the piano after I go to bed.  When he does this, the happy, peaceful feelings I had as a child listening to my mother flood back to me.  I can’t help but think how happy my Mom would be if she could be here to hear him playing.

I am thankful to my Mom for so many things that she gave me.  Tonight, I am grateful for the music that she brought to my life.  I am thankful that she allowed me to see her dance, that she allowed me to watch her experience the joy of music, that she allowed me to drift off to sleep hearing her play the piano.  So many blessings.  Happy Mothers Day.

6 thoughts on “A Memory Of My Mother

  1. This was an absolutely beautiful post. Even though hearing about death is hard at this time, it’s still beautiful hearing people’s memories.

    • Hi Corinne, sorry for the delay in responding to your nice comment. Yes, it is all the little things that fill up my heart with sweet memories of my Mom. I am doing well. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

