You Will Draw Water Joyfully

A line from a reading during the Easter Vigil Mass has stayed with me since Easter.  It is so filled with beauty and hope that I have been memorizing it.  I want to add it to my toolbox of thought conditioners, even though it is not one of Dr. Peale’s verses.

You will draw water joyfully from the springs of salvation.  Isaiah 12:3

That is such a hopeful little verse.  Since Easter, anytime I have been a little sad or stressed, I have tried to bring this verse into mind and make it part of my thinking.  It is a promise that we can believe in.  No matter what is happening around us today, we can hold on to this promise and know that God will give us strength to persevere.  And not to just get through it, but to actually be JOYFUL.

This reminds me of the slowly spreading joy that I experienced as I came to believe that I could be a happy, fulfilled, complete person even though I am experiencing vision loss.  Once I realized that my vision loss could actually be a source of grace, I saw that my life was far from over.  In fact, my life is more full and fulfilling than it has ever been before.  My relationships are stronger because I have reprioritized.  I see beauty in the world that I missed as I was rushing around.  I have bad days, of course, but I am filled with joy that springs up unexpectedly, even in the middle of feeling sorry for myself.

You will draw water joyfully from the springs of salvation.

I really want to keep this little verse in my heart, so that I can pull it out if ever there is a time when I begin to lose hope.  No matter what I am going through, no matter what I am experiencing, no matter what seems to be standing in the way of my joy, I can hold fast to this promise.  There is living water which will quench my thirst.  I do not have to struggle.  I will draw water joyfully from the springs of salvation.

4 thoughts on “You Will Draw Water Joyfully

  1. Thank you Belinda,, I so needed this… we all know it in our hearts but as you say…. remind ourselves with this verse..
    Am Drawing Joy,
    Jo

    • Hi Jo. Thanks. I actually needed this myself, today, so I am glad that I was a little delayed in responding to your comment, so that I could be reminded. I forget my own lessons so quickly. lol. I still have a lot of growing to do, but we are all on our journey together and that helps. Thank you for your comment.

  2. This is a wonderful post Belinda. Father Jim in his homily on Sunday said (i can’t quote it ) part of faith is not knowing all of the answers but being happy with the questions. Your post reminds me of that attitude. Your not asking why me but seeing the grace God has given you and through your words opening our minds and hearts to see it too.

    • Thank you for the nice comment, Lisa. You are right that there is so much grace in the world, if we just open our minds and hearts. Thanks for the reminder of that. Hugs to your family!

Leave a Reply

