Stick A Needle In My Eye

My surgery went well.  The doctor was able to remove the lens and replace it with no problem.  I was home by noon and spent the afternoon sleeping off the anesthesia.  Then, I slept all evening and all through the night.  That’s a lot of sleep, but I generally react to any stress by sleeping.

This morning I went for a post-op checkup.  The pressure in my eye was “a little high,” according to the tech.  My eye doctor came in and looked at my eye.  I told him that it was achy and he said that it was because of the increased pressure.  He told me that he could relieve the pressure right away and put a drop in my eye.  I assumed it was some sort of pressure-relieving medicine.  He asked me to look up and then he poked my eye with a tiny syringe.  The drop had been to numb my eye, and then he had drained a little bit of fluid off with the syringe.  He was very tricky to not tell me what he was about to do.  It did not hurt at all, but I would have been nervous if I had known how he was going to relieve the pressure.

My left eye tested at 20/400, which means I could read the big “E” on the chart, and then 20/200 with pinhole.  This is not the miracle that I had with my right eye, but it is still an improvement.  The doc hopes for even better vision once the swelling goes down.  My left eye is very light sensitive today and I have to wear the huge  “cataract sunglasses” if I go outside, or even if I am in a room with lots of sunlight.  Hopefully, the light sensitivity will go away soon.

Today, one day post-op, I feel okay.  My eye is a little achy and I have a headache.  I still feel as if I could sleep forever.  But, my vision is okay and I am happy that the surgery is over.  As I suspected, I have lost all ability to focus on anything up close.  I can not read anything on my phone, for example.  No phone numbers, no texts, no way to tell who is calling.  It is all a blur.  My eye doctor says that after everything settles down, he will give me a prescription for glasses for my close vision.  Meanwhile, I will do the best that I can with regular drugstore reading glasses.  Not perfect, but I can see well enough to write this post on my computer.

Because of the increased pressure in my left eye, I have to take extra drops.  So, two kinds of drops three times each day and one kind of drop four times each day.  Plus, he wants me to continue one kind of drop in my right eye twice each day.  That’s a lot of drops to keep track of, but they were all very expensive, so I want to be sure to take them and get my money’s worth. I have to pay attention and let the doctor know if I think the pressure in my eye is increasing – I will know if it starts to ache again.  This is scarier now, since I know that he will fix it by poking a needle in my eye.  Even though it doesn’t hurt, I hope it doesn’t happen again.

Thanks to everyone for your thoughts and prayers and kind words.  I really appreciate all the love and support I am receiving from those who read my blog.

4 thoughts on “Stick A Needle In My Eye

  1. Hello Belinda –

    I’ve been thinking about the ethical issues regarding the method your eye doctor chose to numb you and not inform you how he was going to alleviate the pressure. I believe his decision is the correct decision. Here’s why.

    I put myself in his and your shoes. First off, if you were informed, does this increase your paranoia? I think it does. I don’t want anyone sticking a needle in my eye, although I’ve had it done twice from injuries I sustained. Another blog, another day. If you’re nervous, I believe this increases the risk of your eye twitching and lids blinking.

    This man has a needle near your eye. He must be accurate where he lands that thing. His liability sky-rockets if he makes an erroneous stab. You being unaware, allowed you to be more calm. His success rate improves that way, dramatically. Whatcha think? 🙂

    • Hi Charlie – Thank you for your thoughtful comment. I agree that my eye doctor did the right thing. He wasn’t really tricking me, just trying to keep me calm.

Leave a Reply

