Back To Blog

Here is a funny thing about writing.  When I was writing a blog post every single day, never missing a day for over a year, I had plenty of topics to write about.  Each and every time I sat down to write, something came to mind and I began to write.  I did not experience writer’s block.  I enjoyed writing.  It energized me and I felt great.

Recently, I have missed a few days.  With each day that passed, it became more and more difficult to think of a topic, more and more difficult to type more than a sentence or two without deleting, more and more difficult to write a post.  I don’t seem to be able to get started.  I stare at the screen.  Instead of adding up as time goes by, the number of ideas decreases.  I have writer’s block.  I dread the time I spend staring at the computer screen, writing a few words and then erasing them, trying and trying to think of something worthwhile to write.

I think there is less pressure when I write every day.  I am just jotting my little thoughts down for the day.  If I am disappointed in a post, or if I think a post is a dud, it’s no big deal because there will be another chance the next day.  After a few days without writing, I start worrying about the quality of a post.  If I am only writing one post in a week, it had better be great.  That is such a stressful thought.

I like writing my little daily posts.  I want to go back to the happy feeling of words flowing out of my fingers and onto the computer screen.  So, even though I haven’t written a post in several days, I am thinking of this post as an ordinary daily post.  No pressure.  No stress.  Just a few little thoughts.

 

 

8 thoughts on “Back To Blog

  1. I don’t write much on mine anymore mostly just because I don’t have the time. The good thing is I never wrote anything interesting anyway. haha. But keep it up!! It’s good you’ve pinpointed what you enjoy and what works best for you. That’s a good lesson in life– finding what makes you happy and whats good for you, then just rolling with it!!

    • You are right. Finding the thing that brings joy is a key to a satisfying life. I do love your blog and hope you will continue. Some of your challenges make me laugh and some inspire me to push myself. Thank you so much for your comment.

    • Writing my blog has really been a gift to myself. Writing helps me process my thoughts and I have learned a lot about myself. You are right, it is very therapeutic.

  2. Hi Belinda, I am glad you write your blog. As I have said before, you are staying positive even though you face adversity with low vision. Your attitude and the fact that you are always pushing forward inspires me. I am glad I stumbled upon your blog as it makes me want to keep going. Teresa

Leave a Reply

