A Sigh Of Relief

Over the past couple of days, many of the things that have been stressing me out have been resolved.  Today, I feel as if a weight has been lifted from my shoulders.  The air seems lighter.  It is easier to breathe.  I feel…happy…peaceful…calm.  It is wonderful to feel this way.

We have received lots of good news.  I can hardly believe that I was so worried and now everything is falling into place.  The idea of change is scary, but not nearly as bad as the stress of waiting for decisions to be made.  I realize that I wasted a lot of energy worrying about things that were out of my control.

Now that things are a bit more settled, I can really look forward eagerly to working on achieving some of my goals and dreams.  Next week, John and I will be going to our favorite place on earth – Family Camp at Camp Koinonia.  It is so beautiful there and I consider it a truly sacred place.  I was thinking that it would be a place to escape all of the stress I have been feeling.  It is a real blessing to find that much of the stress is already gone.  Now my week at Family Camp can be less about de-stressing and more about listening to God’s call for me.  It will be an opportunity to dream and to think about the steps I need to take to make some of my dreams come true.

I feel poised for a big change in our lives.  John is embarking on a new adventure at work that will change our family life quite a bit.  It seems as if the timing for this is perfect, since Emily has already left the nest and Sam will go away to college in the Fall.  Ben will enter his senior year in high school.  My vision has stabilized.  I am fairly well settled into my job.  Things are going to change and I am excited to see what new opportunities those changes bring.

When I count the stresses in our life over the past few months, I can hardly believe that we have weathered them so well.  I have had a couple of meltdowns, but mostly I have been able to remain positive.  John has been wonderful and calm through the bumps along the way.  We are so blessed.  The future looks bright.

7 thoughts on “A Sigh Of Relief

  1. Belinda,
    I hope you have a very nice vacation. I have enjoyed reading your blog this week, as I always do. The blog about what kind of friend are you was particularly helpful.

  2. Every time I ‘weather a storm’ or period of stress, I come out the other side feeling a little stronger, more grateful, and more confident in my/our ability to face the inevitable challenges that will arise in the future.
    Have a great week at Family Camp! I’ll miss you there, I don’t know if you’ll be at week 3? I hope so!

    • Hi Sheri. It’s been a long time since I responded to comments, but I wanted to say thanks. I hope you had as good a week at Family Camp as I did. Sorry we weren’t there the same week.

  3. That peaceful calm is the best! If there is one thing I think I’ve got figured out in life, it’s to stop trying to find happiness and just seek peace! Peace is the ultimate happiness, I think. Have a lovely, peaceful time at Family Camp! I’m excited to hear more about it!

    • Hi Maureen, sorry that I have been neglecting my comments. July was a difficult month but I have had many moments of peace in the midst of all the turmoil. Family Camp was wonderful but I have not even had time to write about it. I am back in the mode of writing my posts and will write about camp soon. Thanks for your comment.

Leave a Reply

