Between Dreams And Reality

Don’t be afraid of the space between your dreams and reality.  If you can dream it, you can make it so. – Belva Davis

I need to listen to this advice.  Lately, I have been worrying a lot.  I feel as if I have been very busy, but I realized today that I have not actually been doing anything.  I have mostly been busy worrying.  My worrying has left me feeling exhausted, but it has not helped me to accomplish anything.  Worrying about my father’s health does not help him to get better.  Worrying about my son going off to college does not help him to prepare and pack.  Worrying about the list of things that needs to be done does not make things get done.  All that my worrying has done is sap me of positive energy and fill me with dread.  It has made accomplishing anything very difficult.  It has made dreaming hard and made working toward making dreams come true impossible.  My worrying has made the space between dreams and reality too big, too insurmountable.  It has made me very afraid of that space.

So, I have decided to make a conscious effort to stop worrying and start working.  Since it is Friday and we don’t have many weekend plans, this is the perfect time to make a plan and follow through.  I am going to take some time this weekend to deal with my reality (cleaning, laundry, writing, etc) and I am going to allow some time for taking a couple of positive steps toward making some dreams come true.

The space between my dreams and reality seems very, very big.  There is a huge gap between some of my “impossible” dreams and I don’t have a clue about how to bridge that gap.  Those big dreams, and that huge gap, have kept me paralyzed for too long.  This weekend, I am not going to think about the gap.  I am going to look through my dream book, pick one or two or three dreams, think up one baby step I can take toward each dream, and take that step.  I am not going to focus on my biggest, boldest, most outlandish dreams right now.  For now, I am going to focus on a couple of dreams that might actually have a chance of coming true in my lifetime.  If I can take some baby steps toward achievable dreams, maybe that will energize me toward taking steps toward more outrageous dreams.

I recently read that many people will fail to turn a plan into reality if they do not set a specific time to work on it, so I am committing to this:  On Saturday morning, at 11:00am, I am going to take an hour to work on mapping out a plan to take baby steps toward making two of my dreams come true.  Each of my baby steps will be SMART – Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Realistic, and Time-Sensitive.  At the end of my hour on Saturday morning, I will have a plan to work toward making two of my dreams come true.

I am guessing that, after my hour, the space between reality and these two dreams will not seem so huge.  It will not seem so overwhelming.  Even making a commitment to taking this time has filled me with energy and excitement.  I can hardly wait until tomorrow morning.

4 thoughts on “Between Dreams And Reality

  1. Hi Belinda…. I could relate in some ways. We want many things done but most of our energies are spent on having them done. Worrying tires a person a lot. Our objectives are also guided by SMART (as a nurse). I’m glad I could relate very well. The thing is we should also be flexible to changes. We might have put our time bound objectives with the schedules, hours and dates but be open to other possibilities.

    Buona fortuna 🙂

    • Melissa, I agree one hundred percent that we must be flexible and open to possibilities. Still, I like the idea of setting some goals along a timeline. It helps me to focus on keeping things moving, instead of getting stalled before I begin. Thank you so much for visiting my blog and for your comment.

  2. You’re not going to tell us the dreams???? The suspense!

    Your post reminds me of something I learned just before I graduated from college: “Success is having a goal that you view as attainable and working toward that goal.” It has come back to me many times when I’ve been stalled.

    Good luck and keep us posted!!

    • Thanks for the quote, Alana. I like it! I will talk about which dreams I chose to work on in tonight’s post. I had a good time “working” on my dreams and feel so full of energy after spending just an hour getting my thoughts in order. Now, I am ready to move forward. Hooray! Thanks for your comment and CONGRATULATIONS on your new job!

Leave a Reply

