This Is Where I Stand

What a long time it has been since I wrote a blog post.  It seems my life has been turned upside down and I have no time or energy to write.  It has taken every ounce of strength just to get through each day.  My Dad’s long illness and the stress and worry of wondering what is going to happen next has taken its toll on our entire family.

Lately, this scripture has kept coming to my mind:

Therefore, put on the armor of God, that you may be able to resist on the evil day and, having done everything, to stand. Ephesians 6:13

I have always liked the idea of putting on “the armor of God,” but the part of the verse that has been bringing me comfort for the last few days is

having done everything, to stand

When it takes every ounce of energy just to get through the day, it is enough to stand.  It has been an act of faith each and every day lately to get out of bed and face the troubles and worries of the day.  Many days, it is all I can do – to stand.  The blessing is that I know that I do not stand alone.  My God is standing with me, dressing me in the armor I need.  My wonderful husband, John,stands beside me, along with my children and extended family.  My friends stand next to me, giving me strength and courage to face another day.

Our lives are full of cycles of consolation and desolation.  I have been in a rough patch, a time of desolation, and it has been hard.  Many days, I have repeated the famous words of Franklin D. Roosevelt:

When you come to the end of your rope, tie a knot and hang on.  

I have been holding on to the knot.  I have stood and I made it through and I am beginning to feel as if I am emerging from the darkness into the light of consolation.  My Dad is settled into a rehab facility and seems comfortable and content for now.  Other troubles, which have seemed overwhelming at times, have shrunk down to manageable proportions.  And I am still standing.

There is a song that has brought me a lot of comfort during this time, and I thought I would share it.

I Will Listen

This song puts into words some of the feelings I have had during this time.  Every day, as I have struggled to get through another day, I have thought this:

Can’t imagine what the future holds
But I’ve already made my choice
And this is where I stand
Until He moves me on
And I will listen to His voice

I never felt alone.  I have never felt abandoned.  I have not enjoyed this stage.  It has been terribly stressful.  I have shed a lot of tears.  But I have stood.  I have endured.  And I have always had hope.  And I have always believed that things would get better.  And now things are getting better.  It is a relief and a blessing and I am happy to be able to share it here in my blog.

8 thoughts on “This Is Where I Stand

  1. Belinda I am keeping you, your family and your dear father in my thoughts and prayers ((big hugs)) for the difficult road you are traveling upon.
    Love
    Pam

    • Pam, my friend, thank you so much for your faithfulness. I feel and appreciate your prayers and am happy to report that things are really getting better and I am feeling so much joy. Peace, Belinda

    • Hi Bill. Thank you for your kind words. I appreciate your comment. It is so good to know that God knows the bigger picture and I am only seeing a tiny sliver of reality. All will be well. Belinda

Leave a Reply

