Thanks For Everything

I have been thinking a lot about being thankful.  November always turns my thoughts toward gratitude.  I recently wrote a post called Attitude of Gratitude and I mentioned study that showed that writing down things we are grateful for makes us feel happier.  I have been making an effort to notice and remark on things for which I am thankful.

Today, I have been thankful for so many things.  First, I was thankful for my alarm clock and my treadmill, then for a nice cleansing shower.  I was thankful to have a ride to work on this chilly day and for a husband who is happy to drive me to work.  I was thankful for a warm welcome from Will, Ralph, Wayne, Sue and Rene when I arrived at work, and for the opportunity to welcome the coworkers who arrived after me.  I am extremely grateful for my morning cup of coffee and for good conversation with my office mate Ashley.  I am thankful that I have a great job with a wonderful organization and a boss that I admire.

That list gets me to 9:00am and it goes on and on.  I have so very much to be grateful for.  Acknowledging this helps to keep me focused on the positive and on how blessed I am.  Since I challenged myself to “count my blessings,” I feel more peaceful and happy.  It is easier to let go of any little disappointments or challenges when I see them in light of all the many good things that happen throughout the day.

When our kids were little, they had a friend, Rob, who had a “Gratitude Book.”  Rob kept a running list of all the things for which he was grateful, all the little opportunities to be thankful.  I have been thinking about Rob and his Gratitude Book a lot since I began keeping track of my own gratitude.  I wonder if he still has his book, if he ever adds to it.  I wonder if all that gratitude from his childhood spills over into his everyday adult life.  I like to think so.  I truly believe that my own gratitude list is contributing to my peace and joy.

Leave a Reply

