A New Beginning

A new year is a new beginning, an opportunity for a fresh start.  I love the freshness and the potential of opening a new calendar.  I think about the year to come and it seems to stretch before me, clean and unblemished.

I recently read a quote that I had never heard before.  I came across it three times in the span of two days, so I believe that I can learn something from it.

Most people overestimate what they can do in one year and underestimate what they can do in ten years.     Bill Gates

This quote makes me stop and think.  What do I want to accomplish in the next ten years?  What are my long-term dreams and goals?  What do I want my life to look like in ten years?  Once I have this picture clearly in mind, I can ask myself questions for this year.  What steps can I take now that will help me get a little closer to that ten-year-from-now life?  I can break it down even further if I put into place my plan of changing my life by changing one habit at a time.  What can I do over the next thirty days to start me moving toward my ten-year goals?

For the month of January, I am focusing on making healthy food choices.  I started this in december but want to keep working on it for the entire month of january.  I have been doing fairly well with this, although I didn’t do very well today.    In my ten-year dream, I am very fit and healthy, so this month’s habit fits in very well.   I don’t know yet what my next small step will be, but I have this whole month to figure it out.  It is kind of a relief to limit my focus to one change.  I can put all of my energy into this one habit.

Most people overestimate what they can do in one year but underestimate what they can do in ten years.  I believe that steady, small changes can make a big difference.  I believe that dreams can come true.  For 2012, I am going to try the one habit at a time approach.  It is worth a try and I just mighlasting form some lasting changes.

One thought on “A New Beginning

  1. I hadn’t heard that quote before, but it does make you think. for me my first step came at the end of last year as well. I decided that all my weight loss efforts are not enough and am now waiting on my insurance to approve the gastric sleeve for me. I contacted all the people with items for sale on my site and asked them to update their listings. This resulted in many new photos and a couple of new videos. and one of my wish list things this year is to finally start recording some video posts eventually leading to a weekly youtube show. thanks for the positive encouragement, and good luck to you in 2012 and beyond, Max

Leave a Reply

