Eyes Open

The combination of the end of 2011 and the beginning of 2012 has really made me reevaluate many aspects of my life.  I want this year to be a year of purpose.  I want to be mindful.  I want to simplify.  I want to be loving.  I want to appreciate the grace all around me.

I find that, in some ways, I am back where I started this blog.  When I was diagnosed with Myopic Macular Degeneration, it changed my world.  Amazingly, the change was for the better.  As my physical vision deteriorated, I found that my ability to see beauty increased.  My ability to see God’s grace working in the world increased.  My ability to be positive increased.  I began to capture my metamorphosis in this blog.  I worked on becoming a photographer, one who could capture beauty.  I grew braver and more confident and more insightful.

Then, my vision improved and stabilized.  Strangely, as I adjusted to the improved vision, my blog lost its focus.  I lost my focus.  I forgot to look deeply into objects, to search for the beauty inside.  I couldn’t find anything meaningful to say.  My blog posts dwindled.

The turn of the year has helped me put things in perspective.  I’ve been thinking about my blog and my mission in life.  I’ve given a lot of thought to getting to the core of it.  I decided to refocus on this mission:

Grace and beauty are all around us if we take the time to look for it.

If I can focus on this mission every day, I will never lose my sense of wonder at all of the amazing treasures all around.  The world can be full of joy and magic when we look for the beauty in everything.

As a symbol of my renewed mission, I found a photo that I took last summer.  I think the lighting and the location on the water turns these ruins into a magical castle.

I am going to post my “new” mission and this photo somewhere that I will see them often.  I want them to remind me to keep my eyes and heart open to the beauty all around me.

3 thoughts on “Eyes Open

  1. Belinda this is a lovely heartfelt post. Life is an amazing journey, with twisty-turny roads and cul-de-sacs. Sometimes just traveling that way gives you more in-‘sight’ than staying on the road more travelled.

  2. Belinda this is would be a journey of awareness and re connecting… My father just got diagnosed with this…. so for me I would be learning about this through your words…

Leave a Reply

