Spinning

Hi!  Long time no see.  How have you been?

A lot has been happening in my life over the past couple of months – good things and not so good things.  I was trying to think of a way to describe how my life has been feeling…and I finally came up with something.

When I was a little girl, my family would sometimes watch the Ed Sullivan show.There was a man who would spin a series of plates.  He would get the plates spinning and would run back and forth, keeping them all going.

My life has felt like that frantic rush to keep the plates spinning.  I was very stressed, rushing from plate to plate, desperate to keep any of them from crashing to the floor.  I could barely breathe.

And then I decided to stop.  One by one, I took some of the plates down from their spinning positions and set them aside.  They were good plates…this blog, photography, volunteering…but I could not keep everything going any more.  Eventually, I had only a couple of plates left…my husband, my children, my job, my friends.  As I took down the extra plates, I started to feel as if I could breathe again.  I had time to focus on the few that were still there.  I had time to enjoy them.

Now, I am ready to start  this plate spinning again.  I am ready to enjoy it.  I am feeling peaceful, instead of feeling frantic.  I needed the respite, but I have missed you.  Please let me know how you have been.

6 thoughts on “Spinning

  1. Glad to see you are back and setting your priorities straight. I have missed your blog, yes it is uplifting and always insightful. We can all take a lesson from what others are going through to inspire us in our own lives.

  2. I love the way you write – when I read a passage, I think, “Yes, that’s exactly how things are.” But I couldn’t have written/phrased it myself. I’d like to plant a seed for another spinning plate – when you have time, of course. I think it would be great for you to write a book. It’s the librarian in me. Come to think of it – have you already written one that I don’t know about?

  3. Glad to see you are back and happy. I like this article because I think there are many people out there who can’t identify the ‘spin’ cycle they are in and I hope this helps them. I love the reference to the Plate Man – haven’t thought of that in years.

  4. We missed you but I admire your ability to SEE even more clearly than many of us are able to and resolve your feelings of spinning too fast and too much. All of us need time to recharge and focus. You are a very wise woman and I salute your INSIGHT!!! Enjoy as we enjoy your blogs. May we all be blessed in our spinning for good!!!

  5. I am glad you are back. I missed your writings! Liked this one–I ned to stop spinning for awhile too, and smell the roses.!

Leave a Reply

