A Little Backyard Magic

The dogs woke me up at 5:00 this morning, insisting that they had to go out.  As I opened the back door, the backyard was bathed in darkness.  I noticed the quality of the pre-dawn air.  It was cool and soft and had an almost-magical feel.  Birdsong filled the air.  I stood, still and silent, and listened to the symphony being played all around me.  A gentle rain began to fall and I lifted my face to allow the drops to wash over me.  The garden’s flowers offered me their heady, heavenly aroma.  I breathed it in, filling my body with this perfume.  I stood a while longer, lingering as I experienced the joy of the world waking up all around me and my senses coming to life.

The dogs broke my reverie, asking to go back inside.  I thanked them for showing me this beautiful 5:00 world.  I returned to my bed for a few more minutes of sleep.  As I closed my eyes, I wondered, “Did that really happen or was it just a dream?”

2 thoughts on “A Little Backyard Magic

  1. Dear Belinda, I love your blog. I’m wondering if you could do a post about this wonderful freel event that is happening in London, as part of the Mexican Festival. It’s called ‘Sight of emotion’, and members of the public are having their photos taken by visually impaired/blind people, which is creating an evolving work of art. Tell me what you think, my email is lilibartley@gmail.com, and the web link is http://www.richmix.org.uk/whats-on/event/sight-of-emotion-ojos-que-sienten/

Leave a Reply

