Bus Poem

A young man
Rumpled and dirty
All strung out
Gets on the bus
“Please” he says to the driver
“I’ve got to get to DSS.”
Messy hair
Bloodshot eyes
Skinny as a stick
“Please” he begs
“I was going to walk
but I overslept.”
Homeless
Addicted
Broke
“Please” he pleads
“I have to get there.
It’s my last chance.”
The bus driver says,
“Son, I’ll give you a ride.
You get yourself some help.”
The young man sits down
Silently, I thank the driver
That could be my child
That could be me

5 thoughts on “Bus Poem

Leave a Reply

